top of page

St. Patrick's Day Swing Dance Fundraiser! (w/ pictures)

Hey babes!

Today I just wanted to share a short n' sweet lil' post about the swing dance I went to a little bit ago. It was a fundraiser for my friend McKenna's choir. They're actually going to Carnegie Hall in April, which is a *huge* honor & achievement. I'm super happy for them, and want to do anything I can to help them raise funds for the trip. They have been planning several events to fundraise for the trip, and two of these events have been swing dances. I wasn't able to go to the first one because I was on a winter retreat, but after I went to the other one, I wish I had.

 

Swing dancing is probably my favorite type of dance. Mastering the basic steps is super easy, and it's all uphill from there. You can learn different moves and tricks, all the way from a basic sweetheart position to the Titanic. Since it was only my second dance, I wasn't the best at it, but all of the guys I danced with were very sweet and patient in teaching me different positions and whatnot. :)

The time was from 7 to 10 pm, but I actually got there at around 6:30 because I went out for coffee with my friend Maggie, then she drove me to the dance. (Funny story: I forgot to order my coffee decaffeinated like I usually do because I have the memory of Dory. I had never really had caffeine before, so my body didn't know what to do with it. I'm already an extremely hyper & crazy person, but that night I was PUMPED. Aaaaannnddd I was up all night because the caffeine was still in my system. When it was all gone, I was exhausted and fell asleep in Bible Study. So yeah there's a lesson as to why you should never have caffeinated coffee at 7:00.)

Anyways, here are some pictures!

The first two pictures are my outfit for the dance. The first one is the outfit I ended up going with and the second one was just to see if I liked it or not. Here's a list of everything if anybody's interested. :) I actually ended up changing my jeans at the dance and those are what is listed below.

White headband -- Claire's ($7)

Jean jacket-- Target (idk)

Light green tank top -- Target (idk)

Jeans -- Target ($20)

Dark green top -- H&M ($5)

All of the bathroom pictures below are of me and my good friends (from left to right) Maggie, McKenna, and Anna. Please ignore my stupid faces...I am aware that they are dumb lol.

All of the dark and grainy pictures below are of Maggie, McKenna & I during the dance. I pulled them aside so I could snap some pics. There were multi-colored lights going off during the dance, so each picture is a different color. Kind of cool, right?

All of these pics were snapped by Anna. She was in charge of photography during the dance. Aren't they nice?

Maggie and McKenna (above) and McKenna and I (below) ^_^

Two more of Maggie and Kenna below hehe

 

Well that's it! I really hope you enjoyed this post! See you later babes! <3

~Em


bottom of page